RSS

5 things my son taught me!

15 Feb
baby Jason

baby Jason

It’s been a while πŸ˜‰

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a few months now….continually shuffling it around on my ‘to do’ list. Right now it is about 3 am and I have been up for about two hours now. Sleep is elusive.

I went to my spot and sat there talking to God. Asking Him why I haven’t been consistent with some of my responsibilities and why keeping up the momentum to keep on being productive is so hard? I even shed a few tears. God simply said “You already have the tools.”

Don’t you just love Him? You don’t get anything else until you complete that last thing.

So, I wiped my face, virtual pen in hand and now listening to the taps of my key board while my people are sleeping. Determined to cross this off the list.

On June 17th we welcomed to our family the sweetest baby boy πŸ™‚ He came promptly on his due date, which just happened to be my mother’s birthday (wonderful gift πŸ™‚ ) and he is my father’s name sake. There is a 13 year gap between him and his sister so this felt like a new and not merely different experience.

 

big sister...

just a few hours old with big sister…

one day old

one day old

Β image

Here are 5 things I’ve learned from his birth and since….

 

1. RELAX

I didn’t realize my ‘relax’ button was broken. I was always on the go, and in some days, there didn’t seem to be enough hours. The family was a responsibility. Working as a homicide detective was a constant grind and consuming. Church was active. And so it rotated. Before having the baby I decided to take four months off from work. Neither I nor my husband thought I’d make it past two. Well, can I say I enjoyed every single day of my four months? So much so that I didn’t want to go back to work. It was like a life detox. All other responsibilities got done without me and I ENJOYED my family!!!!! My priorities slowly shifted and I took control of my clock and calendar!

My husband who is quite the opposite of me, bought me massages and ensured that we went away for our anniversary; minus our then two month old. So I have kept that up, implementing more ‘self care’ activities on my calendar.

catching some rays on Crowder's Mountain

catching some rays on Crowder’s Mountain

paddle boarding on Lake Lure

paddle boarding on Lake Lure

caught this double rainbow coming down Chimney rock

caught this double rainbow coming down Chimney rock

2. GRATITUDE

Have you realized how easy it for us to complain about a situation rather than find the pieces to be thankful about? It’s really conditioned in us. When I look at my baby boy, as soon as his eyes open he has the biggest smile on his face. As if to say ‘Another day? Thank you!” I pray he never loses that. I strive to see the glass as half full and have even taken to writing in my gratitude journal. Don’t we all have so much to be thankful for?

he wakes up like this :)

he wakes up like this πŸ™‚

3. NO FEAR

As I watch Jason and see how he approaches everything with wonderment and reckless abandon, I wonder how it is as we grow we lose that. I know it’s through a myriad of life experiences. But I still wonder at it. As his father, sister and I hover to make sure he doesn’t get hurt and is encouraged to keep exploring, isn’t that what God does for us? However, despite our best attempts, Jason has bumped his head, fallen, and hit himself with his own toys, but he still keeps going. We, on the other hand, allow fear to stop us, instead of doing it afraid.

In spite of past hurts and disappointments, let’s be determined to thoroughly explore the hand we’ve been dealt!

trying to figure it out...

trying to figure it out…

 

4. GROW

For the past month Jason has been crawling, pulling himself up and walking from side to side while holding on. About a week ago, he started standing up and letting go. He lasts for a hot second and then he drops. He has been doing it over and over again and now lasts for about 2-3 seconds. As I was watching him I wondered how does he know to ‘want’ to do the next thing? Now that I can sit up, I don’t want to lie down. Now that I can crawl, I don’t want to just sit. Now that I can stand, I don’t want to just crawl. Now that I can walk, I don’t want to just stand….

God’s expectation for us is just the same. We should be ‘forever learners’. Willing to seek out and be in environments and around people who challenge us to grow continually. Only then can we maximize everything God had in mind for us when He formed each of us πŸ™‚

persisting :)

persisting πŸ™‚

exploring...

exploring…

5. LOVE

Hmmm, babies are dripping with love πŸ™‚ This is my favorite and I saved it for last. I cannot tell how many times I’ve heard ‘this baby has really changed you’. And I usually think ‘what kind of force was I before?’

The whole pregnancy, natural birth, and subsequent, has shown me so many more angles and aspects of love. The first is to be loving and patient with others, especially in ministry. Just as I am loving and patient with Jason, not expecting him to do more than a baby does, so must I treat others that are babes in Christ (natural age doesn’t matter).

Loving me. Taking time to do #1 and realizing that I am a limited resource and taking care of my temple is paramount, because that’s the only one that I have and it is the vehicle by which I can complete all that God has given me to do!

Loving and treasuring my family. My kids are growing so fast, I don’t want to miss a thing!

Love is everything. What charge can one bring against love?

I fell in love with this when I first saw it!

I fell in love with this when I first saw it!

my mini ;)

my mini πŸ˜‰

my love :)

my love πŸ™‚

mister smiling Jason :)

mister smiling Jason πŸ™‚

our standard poodle Ava...

our standard poodle Ava…

Until next week.

Blessings

JC

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2016 in Daily Inspiration, Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “5 things my son taught me!

  1. Janeva

    February 15, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    Great read. This really blessed me! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • JC

      February 15, 2016 at 5:10 pm

      Hi Janeva πŸ™‚

      Amen. And thanks for taking the time to read πŸ˜‰

       
  2. Darla McDavid

    February 15, 2016 at 7:39 pm

    Sweet photos of your son. My son turned 27 this month, and one of the things I say in truth and in jest to him is “It’s your fault that I became a Christian.” God used the demands of a toddler to show me how He had put up with my selfishness for 30 years. Thank God for motherhood!

     
    • JC

      February 15, 2016 at 8:54 pm

      Thank you! Yes, it’s very eye opening and humbling. The best part to me is to realize how much I love them both and to know God loves me like that πŸ™‚ He is that doting parent wanting to see me be the best that I can be.

       
  3. Wendy L. Macdonald

    February 15, 2016 at 11:54 pm

    Congratulations, JC, on your beautiful son (your whole family is lovely). Love Jason’s smile.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

     
    • JC

      February 16, 2016 at 12:31 am

      Thanks Wendy!!! They are truly a blessing πŸ˜‰
      JC

       

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
LΓ­onel Lived.

πŸ™πŸΎ LΓ­onel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health πŸ™πŸΎ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

