RSS

Uncharted Waters….

17 Feb

ship 2

A ship is safe in the harbor, but that’s not what ships are built for.

A few weeks ago I stumbled across this saying on the author, Norm Schriver’s, Facebook page. It was scribbled on a wall he found on one of his many travels.

It pricked my mind and the more I meditated on it, the more profound it was. It was beautifully simple, but quite pointed. Ships are built for sailing in oceans and for adventures out at sea. Of course there are risks, but regardless, that’s what ships are made to do. Staying in the harbor gets you nowhere!

The thing about us humans, is that we never know how much we are capable of until we try. Admittedly, to try is to risk failure and risking failure is scary. But not moving because of the fear of failure is, by default, FAILING. The same thing you were afraid of.

military days

military days

In 1999, I joined the Marine Corps and was shipped off to boot camp. It was in those three long months that I discovered that there was some hidden grit inside of me. Grit that was only unveiled by the resilience to survive the miles and miles of running, humping, marching, fighting, shooting, shooting some more, swimming, jungle survival and mind games. Watching many get injured and some struggling to make it. But there was a design in me that persevered to be the honor graduate at graduation ๐Ÿ™‚

Fast forward many many years later, and God said to start this blog. Expand your ministry. Explore your design. Did I move? Nope. Not for many months. I didn’t know anything about blogging, didn’t have any friends who blogged and I was afraid to fail. Staying ‘safely’ in a harbor, but still failing by default!

I am the same vessel in both of these scenarios but the decision to push out into uncharted waters is a constant one, because God is progressive. And as soon as you think you have mastered something, there is a new something to master.

Many of us have mastered some high waves and rough seas in our lives. Triumphed over cancer, disabilities, abuse, death and heart wrenching tragedies, loss, addictions, migrating to a new country and culture, poverty and a plethora of circumstances that tested our fortitude. But we get a new assignment from God and we run for cover in the harbor.

What new voyage has God opened up for you? Is it perhaps starting a study group, teaching, preaching, going to school/seminary, writing a book, accepting a new offer, opening a business, tackling a new project, being more vocal, marketing what HE is doing in your corner of the world, or perhaps just trying a new hairstyle, new food, learning a language etc….Get out the harbor!

If HE has opened it, then you were designed for it; AND when God opens the door it is HIS responsibility to keep it open.

My prayer is that my words will give you a much needed nudge to push out into some uncharted waters ๐Ÿ˜‰

God gets pleasure watching you be you!

Blessings always

JC

 
20 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in Daily Inspiration

 

20 responses to “Uncharted Waters….

  1. Pure Glory

    February 18, 2014 at 2:46 am

    JC, I’m glad you ventured out of the known into the blogging world. You make a difference! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • nopew

      February 18, 2014 at 3:46 am

      I agree with you!
      Peace

       
  2. JC

    February 18, 2014 at 3:45 am

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you kindly, sir.

     
  3. inthepottershands988

    February 18, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Hello, JC! I loved this post! Loved! Loved! Loved!! The Lord is speaking to me through this. He is definitely nudging me out into uncharted waters. Thank you for this encouraging word. Blessings!

     
    • JC

      February 18, 2014 at 8:54 pm

      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I love it. Go for it!
      Blessings sister
      JC

       
      • Molesia

        February 19, 2014 at 12:18 am

        Great read. Thank you Jackie

         
        • JC

          February 19, 2014 at 12:30 am

          Amen Molesia ๐Ÿ™‚

           
  4. journeyofjoy

    February 20, 2014 at 2:03 am

    What a good word JC!! Thank you…

    What a pleasant surprise (marine corps)! And how glad I am that God snatched (Quality) you up for His kingdom!!! I was not surprised that you persevered to be the honor graduate at graduation. Warms my heart Oh’ so much……

    Now for the post; I needed this! thank you sis ๐Ÿ™‚
    You should know that I check in almost daily to see if you have any updates and then when I finally don’t check — you post. Happens without fail.

    I’m probably the happiest person that you left shore and started blogging! I wouldn’t have met you otherwise. Can’t imagine that.

    Hugs,
    Marlene

     
    • JC

      February 23, 2014 at 11:19 pm

      Hey Marlene,
      Totally love when you stop through to comment….so we get to chat ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Glad this was good for you…can wait to see what it produces ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know it’s going to be awesome and excellent.
      The blogosphere has been totally worth the plunge, thanks to friends like you ๐Ÿ™‚

      Blessings
      JC

       
  5. Shelly

    February 20, 2014 at 9:18 am

    What a powerful post! I love the quote. The Lord has a plan for each of us and if we allow our fears and doubts to dissuade us from pursuing it we will be stuck in the harbor. It is by sailing out, even in deep, unchartered waters that our faith is tested. In these times of uncertainty, the Lord steps in. His strength is made perfect in our weaknesses. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else!

     
    • JC

      February 24, 2014 at 1:29 am

      Thank you Shelly!
      Yes, striving to pay it forward daily ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Blessings to you my sister
      JC

       
  6. aquene7

    February 23, 2014 at 8:18 am

    Hi JC loved this post and a very true word. Always inspiring! Aquene7

     
  7. JC

    February 24, 2014 at 1:30 am

    Hi,
    Thank you.
    Blessings always ๐Ÿ˜‰
    JC

     
  8. Faith Love n Desire

    March 5, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    Hi JC, I truly loved this post! Nice to meet you dear! Much love sent your way!

     
    • JC

      March 6, 2014 at 1:54 am

      Thank you….and thanks for the visit ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Blessings
      JC

       
  9. Bupe Rose

    March 5, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    I really like this line: explore your design. This is what makes life exciting. God is progressive as you stated, and he is always stretching us and pushing us to come up and go further. Bless!

     
    • JC

      March 6, 2014 at 1:56 am

      Yes, it does make life exciting!! I think it brings us ‘to life’ (in both sense of the words ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Blessings to you my sister
      JC

       
  10. 1mayahking

    March 10, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    I have run from quite a few assignments that God has given me. Glad that you are being obedient.

     
    • JC

      March 14, 2014 at 2:39 am

      Thanks. Glad you stopped by ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Blessings
      JC

       

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Lรญonel Lived.

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ Lรญonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Making memories

inesemjphotography

BD Photography

Nature and Landscape Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

โ€œYou only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.โ€

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow with Otto

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian

Uprooted Magnolia

I'm Leah, a freelance Photographer born and raised in Macon, GA, USA. I spent 8 years in the wild west and this is my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming. Welcome to Uprooted Magnolia.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can red rug

Places in the heart

Living Life Loud

Living life boldly with purpose!

66 Assurance Way

Spiritual Encouragement & Empowerment

Christian Grandfather Magazine

Encouraging Grandfathers & Future Grandfathers