RSS

The struggle of Acceptance….

13 Jan

waiting

“She slipped into a coma and she’s not breathing on her own.

She went in to get a blood clot removed and a piece of it traveled to her lungs. She was without oxygen for about an hour. She’s my best friend and I asked God not to take her. He could take whoever else he wanted, but not her!

She has been through so much, the loss of a child, a number of current ailments and as I looked at her on that bed, she looked so tired Jackie. I wanted God to heal her, I didn’t want to lose her, she has been a great friend to me from day one and I wanted her with me. But as I stood there, God said I was being selfish. Selfish!

She had actually received Christ a couple days prior. And God said to me “she’s saved”.Β I prayed for God to have His will. He is able to heal, but sometimes that’s not His will. I am at peace inside either way; I can’t even explain it, Jackie.”

I listened quietly. My mind recalling our bible study two days prior. My pastor had talked about being in sync with God’s will. Especially syncing with His will when a loved one is going through an affliction, when an elderly parent is sick and in pain, and when we have to watch our children endure growing pains etc.

While in that study, one of the brothers talked about his elderly mother being in the hospital. Every time she was admitted he would pray for God not take her. He didn’t want to lose his mother. She would be in pain, incoherent and out of it at times. But she finally told him, quite clearly, that she was tired. He said he knew what that meant.

I listened quietly on that day too. It is truly in these scenarios when my spirit is the calmest. I am sure footed on the sovereignty of God, but there is a finesse that only God has when He tells someone they are being selfish in such a situation.

I can honestly say I was thankful I was on the listening end; with soothing words and an I love you.

Sometimes we pray for a thing and the way God goes about it is most definitely not the way we want Him to.

Sometimes the answer to the prayer is no.

‘What if your blessings come through raindrops, what if your healing comes through tears…what if trials of this life are your mercies in disguise? (Laura Story’s ‘Blessings’)

My heart aches with encouragement right now. For the praying friend who waits patiently for her best friend to awaken from her deep sleep. For the sister who just buried her mother a day ago. For the person struggling with a new diagnosis of pain. For the mother and father trying not to intervene on the process God is taking their child through.

I think on my talks with God when my own best friend was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. I badly needed His perspective.

Accepting God’s will might pain us at times, but I truly can offer no better alternative.

Be a support today, smile, encourage, pray, give, be there, listen, hug and give an I love you. It makes a difference πŸ™‚

Blessings

JC

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2014 in Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “The struggle of Acceptance….

  1. Seyi sandra

    January 14, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    It does makes a difference, a powerful post I dare say JC!
    Blessings.

     
    • JC

      January 19, 2014 at 3:05 am

      Thank you Seyi!

       
  2. livingmoreabundantly

    January 15, 2014 at 11:59 am

    Beautiful post! Thank you for a powerful reminder that there are times are will does not line up with our Father’s but He knows what He is doing. Blessings!

     
    • JC

      January 19, 2014 at 3:07 am

      Yes HE does! πŸ™‚

      Blessings back at you.

       
  3. journeyofjoy

    January 19, 2014 at 4:26 am

    A really deep sigh… AMEN!! I couldn’t add anything to what you said JC. God’s blessings to you and your friend.

    Marlene

     
    • JC

      January 27, 2014 at 1:47 pm

      Blessings back at you Marlene πŸ™‚

       
  4. livelytwist

    January 23, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Knowing the will of God in prayer helps us pray effectively. Understanding his timing is key too. And in the end listening to, trusting & accepting his answers- yes, not now, much later, no, etc, brings contentment.

     
    • JC

      January 27, 2014 at 1:50 pm

      True. It is hard to embrace it, but when we do then that contentment comes. I guess it’s a peace knowing and accepting that HE knows best!

      Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚
      Blessings
      JC

       
  5. nopew

    January 26, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    Sometimes not knowing the whole picture lets us into the whole story, but that apparent limbo is, as you say, a painful place. It is inspiring that you tell the story without making a final resolution – life is like that more than the problem sorted all out, I think.
    And I am always inspired when I hear Laura’s song on the radio.
    Peace

     
    • JC

      January 27, 2014 at 1:55 pm

      Yes that is a beautiful song.

      I think your perspective is interesting, but I agree. We have to come to an acceptance that God’s will is best, even before we know what the resolution is. In this case she passed away a week later. Still a tough blow for my friend, but prayerfully she will continue to cling to God for her comfort.

      Blessings my brother
      JC

       
  6. greenlightlady

    January 29, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    JC, I love that you said to “listen.” When I went through about twelve years of infertility before finally giving birth to our first son I did not need sermons or advice when I was hurting. I just needed someone to listen on my down days and give me a hug. God was gracious to me and gave me a friend who also was waiting on the Lord for something big. We comforted each other and prayed faithfully for one another. It was such a respite to have a safe place where I could be myself and would not be told the usual cliches. Now that friend and I pray for each other as we live with the answers to our prayers. πŸ™‚

    Blessings ~ Wendy

     
    • JC

      February 9, 2014 at 6:27 am

      That friend sounds like a true ‘gift’. I have one like that too πŸ˜‰ And I treasure her to pieces. I am sure it is beautiful to have endured the prayers and the ‘answers’ together πŸ™‚

      Blessings
      JC

       
  7. Andy Oldham

    February 5, 2014 at 1:30 am

    Beautifully Written! God Bless!

     
    • JC

      February 9, 2014 at 6:28 am

      Thank you Andy! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll hop over to check you out πŸ˜‰
      Blessings
      JC

       
  8. Christina ~

    February 7, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    I love how your words are always infused with love and praise for the Lord. Truly…my own walk is…challenging at the moment. However…that is not the point…the point is I love your posts and in this one my favorite was your writing of “God’s finesse” He most definitely does have “finesse” down perfectly (no surprise there)!) I had just never heard it put that way. Thank you for sharing this story and for listening to me ramble. Life has been crazy but I am so very hopeful…prayerful that I will be able to visit more often. Hugs and Blessings to you dearest friend!! ~

     
  9. JC

    February 9, 2014 at 6:43 am

    Thank you Christina! Coming from the Lady of Words that is a compliment indeed πŸ˜‰
    Hold on and Press on….joy will come. Be encouraged my friend πŸ˜‰

    ‘Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when the desire comes it’s a tree of life’ (Prov 13:12)

    Blessings always Christina. And you can ramble anytime…I love to read πŸ˜‰
    JC

     

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
LΓ­onel Lived.

πŸ™πŸΎ LΓ­onel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health πŸ™πŸΎ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

