RSS

Put it to rest!

21 Sep
make the journey light...

make the journey light…

For the past two weeks or so I have been preparing for a session called ‘Junk in the Trunk’. The trunk; where most of us keep junk. Our sweaty gym clothes and shoes, various papers to be sorted ‘later’. Items that were on the back seat, but placed in the trunk so someone could have a seat. The trunk, that unless it is intentionally opened, no one sees in it. Perhaps only visited when a suitcase or two need to go back there.

The trunk of our lives are no different. Junk piles up. Anger and rejection, hurts from past relationships to be sorted out ‘later’, grief that was once on the back seat, but placed in the ‘trunk’ because someone else needed us. Truth be told we might be afraid to open it for fear of everything falling out. Praying that we will find those who will love us in spite of the junk in our trunk.

Anyway, I came across this and wanted to share:

“Know when things are dead, know when to release them and bury them. No amount of work will resuscitate a corpse. Sign the death certificate and bury the past. Some issues must be reckoned dead. It is neither weak nor cowardly to walk away from the past. Leaving behind dead issues does not mean you are quitting; it means you are conserving your strength for things that count, things you can change, things you can control. Somethings you just need to lay to rest. Have the wisdom to know what is dead and have the courage to write it off…”

Some of us are holding on to thoughts, hurts, things and people even when we know God has said to let go. We are stuck on the possibilites; the ifs, woulds, coulds and shoulds. Put them to rest. Lighten the load, empty the trunk. Make room for a spare tire and blanket; perhaps even for more junk we’re sure to collect along this thing called life 😉

Blessings

JC

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “Put it to rest!

  1. poeticjourney

    September 22, 2013 at 1:58 am

    Thank you for the message, I needed to read it. Hope all is well.God Bless

     
    • JC

      September 23, 2013 at 1:28 am

      Praise God 😉
      Blessings
      JC

       
  2. Christina ~

    September 22, 2013 at 2:40 am

    Yes!! So…so true!! I am notorious for giving all my woes to God…then picking them back up on my way out the metaphorical door! 😉 Thank you for the reminder to truly let them go… Hugs & Blessings ~

     
    • JC

      September 23, 2013 at 4:33 am

      Ha, we all do. We work so hard, doing all the ‘heavy’ lifting instead of letting God do it.
      Blessings my sister 😉
      JC

       
  3. mwitasblog

    September 22, 2013 at 7:07 am

    Wonderfully true, JC!

     
    • JC

      September 23, 2013 at 4:34 am

      🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

       
      • mwitasblog

        September 23, 2013 at 6:07 am

        It’s always a pleasure to check you out, JC!

         
  4. journeyofjoy

    September 22, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    How true! I remember in 2005 going through something that necessitated just what you said above (let go, put to death and move forward). It was perhaps one of the toughest seasons I had been trough at that point. What made it easier for me to get the shovel, was God reintroducing the truth of NEWNESS into my life. When the longing for the new finally superseded the old — I was delivered. This post reminds me of God’s desire for us to live in newness of life!

    Thanks for sharing it, and great picture(s) as always!

     
  5. JC

    September 23, 2013 at 5:06 am

    Same here Marlene! 2005 was a pivotal year. Because I am hard on myself I tend to try to work things out because I don’t want to ‘fail’ at it. So this was good. “sign the death certificate and bury it”. Grieve if we must, but FORWARD is the word 😉

    Funny, I took that picture back in 2009 while canoeing with a friend. My canoe tipped over dumping me in the Catawba river, destroying my camera. But pictures salvaged 😉
    Blessings always..
    JC

     
    • journeyofjoy

      September 24, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      Oh’ no, dumped in the Catawba? You’re obviously a really good swimmer, (not sure I can handle that with calm). SO sorry about your camera–yet so glad you didn’t lose the great pictures 🙂

       
  6. Seyi sandra

    September 23, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    Such an inspiring post, and beautifully written too! Sometimes I tell myself to let go but then, some junks don’t stay buried, they still creep right back up! I’m gonna sign the death certificate again!! Thanks for sharing dear friend!
    🙂

     
    • JC

      September 25, 2013 at 3:40 am

      Same here Seyi 😉 My junk goes through a death and resurrection process sometimes, but I’ve gotten better 🙂
      Thanks for passing through 🙂
      JC

       
  7. AdjustedSails

    September 24, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    yes, we can’t grasp new things if our grip is secure on old things. 🙂

     
    • JC

      September 25, 2013 at 3:38 am

      Amen 😉

       

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Líonel Lived.

🙏🏾 Líonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health 🙏🏾

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Making memories

inesemjphotography

BD Photography

Nature and Landscape Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow with Otto

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian

Uprooted Magnolia

I'm Leah, a freelance Photographer born and raised in Macon, GA, USA. I spent 8 years in the wild west and this is my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming. Welcome to Uprooted Magnolia.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can red rug

Places in the heart

Living Life Loud

Living life boldly with purpose!

66 Assurance Way

Spiritual Encouragement & Empowerment

Christian Grandfather Magazine

Encouraging Grandfathers & Future Grandfathers