RSS

~Delayed Gratification~

29 Apr
Crowders Mountain...

Crowders Mountain…

This past Saturday some of the women from my church and I took a trip and climbed Crowders Mountain. This was my first time climbing any kind of mountain recreationally, so I was excited. Killer smoothie for breakfast, ice-cold water, camera slung, and chilled sliced plums awaiting my descent; I was ready.

all smiles and ready to go...

all smiles and ready to go…

I already knew I was going to blog about this, even had a name ready; “View from the Top”.

Well on the way up, we missed the turn for our intended route and ended up taking a much longer and harder route to the top of the mountain (a whole other life lesson here, but I shall not digress). It started out fine, but then there were hills after hills and no designated resting place. My breathing was labored and legs felt taxed. But ALL of that evaporated the instant I made it to the top and saw the view.

image

For some reason, of the whole trip, that instant feeling was heightened and highlighted. I was just amazed to myself that I couldn’t even drum up in my mind how tired my legs felt just moments earlier. I thought of that feeling the whole way down and on the ride home; just couldn’t shake it. The next morning, as I mulled it over, God said He didn’t want me to talk about the view from the top, but about Delayed Gratification. So here goes…

Delayed Gratification – the ability to resist the temptation for an immediate reward and wait for a later reward.

Delayed Gratification teaches us the art of waiting. We hardly wait for anything anymore. With ‘fast’ food, microwaveable everything, breakfast, lunch and dinner ‘to go’, waiting is a lost art. As a result we struggle with the ‘process’ of life; impatient with ourselves and others because we thought we’d be further along by now, past this hurt by now, delivered by now, kicked this habit by now, ditched this addiction by now, have this prayer answered by now.

May I even say that the level of delayed gratification/discipline that we show towards a goal directly correlates to how badly we want to achieve that goal? We will do everything it takes to get what we really want. The lack of doing suggests how badly we want it as well; not badly enough. We can say it, but actions always speak louder than words.

We can say we want to know God more, but we don’t make time for Him, instead choosing to watch the game, hang out, watch shows, movies, sleep; other things that ‘feel’ more pleasurable.

We can say we want to better our health, but we don’t put in the hard work of exercising and eating clean, instead choosing every excess food offers and then a quick weight loss method.

We can say we want a bigger savings account and financial stability, but we have no plan, don’t stick to the budget and spend recklessly.

The short-term things we choose to do make us feel better instantly, but they delay and sometimes rob us of that ultimate euphoria of succeeding, making it to the top, and seeing the view. The joys of sharing the hugs of grand babies in your winter years. The joy of successful business ownership and careers after much toil. The joys of ‘before’ and ‘after’ photos, the joys of a growing ministry after much study, service and investment…and I can go on. But I pray you got the point……wait on it.

Sometimes we think ‘delayed’ gratification means ‘no’ gratification, but wait on it. The ultimate gratification is coming, it’s just delayed.

May my words encourage your day. Don’t quit and go back down, turn around and give up. Like the euphoria of a mother holding her newborn baby in her arms, labor pains forgotten, stay persistent towards your goals; once achieved, it will be worth the delay 🙂

Blessings, JC

this guy kept flying by...

this guy kept flying by…

 

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2014 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “~Delayed Gratification~

  1. osarobohenry

    April 29, 2014 at 4:59 am

    That is the fact JC, we always shy away from our responsibilities. I agree with you. Thanks for sharing and I also thank God for making it possible for you to have the mountain climbing experience. Have a most blessed day!!!

     
    • JC

      April 29, 2014 at 6:07 pm

      Yes thankful for the experience…I can always find prints of His glory when I’m out in nature…..
      Thanks for the comment my brother 🙂
      Blessings
      JC

       
  2. mwitasblog

    April 29, 2014 at 5:26 am

    “this guy kept flying by…” You must have been in his territory. A beautiful story. lovely pics… and a lesson worth waiting for!

     
    • JC

      April 29, 2014 at 6:09 pm

      Ha, yes, probably in his territory. But he had to share the view 🙂
      Blessings to you
      JC

       
  3. livingmoreabundantly

    April 29, 2014 at 10:51 am

    This post was just the reminder I needed this morning! Thank you! Delaying gratification sure hurts my flesh but boy do I need to do it more! Blessings!

     
    • JC

      April 29, 2014 at 6:15 pm

      Amen. Blessings to you too 🙂

       
  4. gwwministry

    May 1, 2014 at 4:06 am

    This is the truth! If we stopped focusing on the gratification we may end up better off by what we can’t see. Keep up the great writing!

     
    • JC

      May 27, 2014 at 2:35 pm

      Missed this one…Thank you. I always think about this when I don’t feel like going to the gym 🙂
      We can apply it to just about any goal though.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      Blessings
      JC

       
  5. Turquoise Compass

    May 9, 2014 at 11:44 am

    Hope all is well. Just thinking of you! I haven’t been able to connect as much with my fast pace travels through Australia and New Zealand, but know that I think of you and hope you are well.
    Jess

     
    • JC

      May 16, 2014 at 6:25 am

      Hello my dear,
      All is well on this end. Heading to Lake Wylie tomorrow for a day on the lake. Hopefully I can capture some good photos…didn’t get many good ones on last vacay (except one with a cute tiger cub 🙂

      Safe travels….I hope you’re deep into your bucket list 🙂

      Blessings always
      JC

       
  6. Laurie Frazier Harrison

    May 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    Loved this. I needed to read this today so I’m so glad you followed the direction God put on your heart. Thank you for stopping by my blog and I look forward to reading more from you.

     
    • JC

      May 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

      Amen. Glad you came through 🙂
      Blessings on this day.
      JC

       
  7. writeshianwrite

    May 18, 2014 at 1:23 am

    What a profound post. Thank you for sharing. This must have been a great experience.

     
  8. JC

    May 27, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Shian,
    It was and I am tickled at how God took the post in a completely different direction from what I thought I would be writing about 🙂 But that’s just like Him, isn’t it?
    Blessings
    JC

     

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Líonel Lived.

🙏🏾 Líonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health 🙏🏾

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Making memories

inesemjphotography

BD Photography

Nature and Landscape Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow with Otto

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian

Uprooted Magnolia

I'm Leah, a freelance Photographer born and raised in Macon, GA, USA. I spent 8 years in the wild west and this is my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming. Welcome to Uprooted Magnolia.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can red rug

Places in the heart

Living Life Loud

Living life boldly with purpose!

66 Assurance Way

Spiritual Encouragement & Empowerment

Christian Grandfather Magazine

Encouraging Grandfathers & Future Grandfathers