RSS

Find your Thing…

12 Jun

I was away this past week at a training course when I received a notification that it had been a year since I started blogging. It didn’t feel like it and as I laid there I quietly reflected on the marker, trying to decide what was on the radar of my mind and whether to put it on paper. This was what gnawed at my spirit:

Have you ever been in an environment or at an event and felt extremely inspired as a result? Well, I had three such experiences quite recently and I wanted to share.

InductionThe first one was when a friend of mine got inducted into the International Karate & Kickboxing Hall of Fame (IKKHOF). Joining the likes of Chuck Norris, Bruce Lee and a few of the over one hundred inductees. What an accomplishment! The required mastery of so many disciplines, hours upon hours of instructing, sometimes for free. But most of all the dedication to a passion!

I am an avid martial arts fan, plot or not πŸ™‚ So I was quite enthralled.

The second was the graduation of my beloved pastor, graduating with his Doctorate in Ministry. All the while working full time, pastoring full time and being a husband, father and grandfather full time. It was a beautiful day and the joy on his face was palpable. Such a commitment to pulling out the greater for God.

Graduation

The last one was the reason I was at the training course in the first place. I was in Knoxville, Tennessee, at the University of Tennessee. Their Anthropology Department (The Body Farm) was renowned in the field of Forensic Anthropology. Dr. William ‘Bill’ Bass was the master mind behind the facility, starting it over 30 years ago, striving to make a contribution to science. A slim, spry man, who was now Professor Emeritus and who beamed like a man who has lived/and was still living his passion. Did I mention that he was 85 years old? Yep, still excited about bones and what they tell us, making his presentation with an antique projector…the one with the glass slides and picture slots πŸ™‚ Recently having his own building named after him and having made an indelible mark in the field of Forensic Anthropology.

 

 

Dr. Bass

I listened attentively with admiration. It is my belief that when we find our niche in life…it is then we come alive. There is nothing better than using an instrument for the purpose for which it was made….

Have you found your niche? Is it teaching, preaching, writing, singing, owning a business, starting a career, continuing your education etc? Don’t let another day go by without finding out what motivates you down to your core. It makes every challenge worth it.

Blessings

JC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2014 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Find your Thing…

  1. Maggielola

    June 12, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    When we find our niche we come alive…that there, is incredible. Wow! Thank you for this small nugget of insight! πŸ™‚

     
    • JC

      June 12, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I thought of you when I was writing about the karate movies πŸ˜‰

       
  2. writeshianwrite

    June 12, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    Excellient JC! You look so beautiful.

     
    • JC

      June 12, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      Thank you Shian πŸ˜‰
      I have been enjoying following your 100 days of Happiness πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I am sure it has been a blessing thus far…

       
      • writeshianwrite

        June 13, 2014 at 1:33 am

        Thanks. I really enjoy your wisdom… It’s very difficult. I wanted to stop many times but I’m going to keep going.

         
  3. shade akinbiyi

    July 2, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Great post JC! So true…thanks for the inspiration. And happy anniversary! πŸ™‚

     
    • JC

      August 13, 2014 at 8:02 pm

      Thank you Shade!! πŸ™‚

       

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
LΓ­onel Lived.

πŸ™πŸΎ LΓ­onel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health πŸ™πŸΎ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

