RSS

Getting out of God’s way.

20 Oct
my beautiful friend who had two toes amputated...

my beautiful friend who had two toes amputated…

Two weeks ago The Sound had it’s first ‘Junk in the Trunk’ session. This is a forum for ย believers and non-believers to deal with issues they are experiencing or have experienced. The topic for the session was Self Esteem.

As I was preparing, God showed me how to set it up, what food to have and who to invite. ย However when the day came, I felt extremely unprepared. I felt as if I hadn’t studied enough and I still couldn’t ‘see’ how things were going to flow. This is a growth area for me, because I love to have ALL the details, and we know God never gives ALL the details ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, as we began, even though I felt uncomfortable and unprepared, things felt right because I had done everything God said to do. So we started, did a few ice breaker exercises, and then got right into Self Esteem.

image

Can I say that it took off? People started sharing about what self esteem meant to them. We each were dealing with issues that impacted how we viewed ourselves. There were issues of weight gain, weight loss, impacts of surgeries, abuse and neglect as children, racism, etc. As I sat back and watched the session take a life of it’s own, I realized that there was nothing that I could have studied for this. I just needed to get out of God’s way.

image

So many things blessed me, and this was one of them. Someone shared about an irreversible surgery that was causing them to be sick and they were regretting doing it in the first place. A friend of mine, who recently had two toes amputated started sharing about how she Let Go and Let God. The person dealing with the effects of surgery leaned in attentively and asked “how do you let go and let God?” (priceless)

My friend shared about waking up from her amputation, and just giving it to God. No pity party, no moping, no why me’s, just trusting that God will make all things work. Another friend chimed in with her own let go and let God moment; years ago she had lost an ovary.

image

There are so many roads that lead to impact our self esteem. Careless words from insensitive parents/family members, our own comparison with others, a scar here, a limp there,ย harsh self critique, no self love and I could go on…..

What could I have studied for in this moment? Everyone left a little lighter than they came; one less piece of junk to carry around, anxious for the next session. Showing ourselves a little more compassion: being kind to ourselves.

I didn’t have a big story to share to relate to most of the issues, and I didn’t feel as if I had a let go and let God moment. But I do,THIS was my let Go and let God moment. I had to get out of the way.

I am a vessel and a servant of the most High God and even though it is an honor to be used by Him, I have to let Him do it!

Are you in the way of what God wants to do with you?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2013 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Getting out of God’s way.

  1. inthepottershands988

    October 20, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    Amen, JC! Challenging words that is for me at this moment. I have struggled with my self-esteem for as long as I can remember. God is slowly but surely building me up. The area where I struggle with the most that is tied to my self-esteem is my weaknesses. Yeah, harsh criticism from people while I was a kid is what led to that. I am learning to let go of the harsh criticism and give myself a break because God says He uses us best in our weaknesses. And also to forgive my peers and the adults in my life that contributed to the harsh criticism I received as a kid. Blessings!! Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. JC

    October 21, 2013 at 3:59 am

    Praise God! Self compassion really stuck out to me….I have learned to be kind to myself, embracing my weaknesses and strengths. This was crucial for me because I set the bar very high and am usually my harshest critic.

    I am thankful that God is using you. He is just awesome! I pray you release those who hurt you with their careless words, don’t leave room for ANYthing to block what God is using you for in this season ๐Ÿ™‚

    I thought of sharing this post with you when I saw your reply: https://thesound33.wordpress.com/2013/08/11/sunday-notes-nature-vs-nurture/

    Let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings to you my sister..
    JC

     
  3. Yevette

    October 23, 2013 at 4:10 am

    Wow! Nothing else needs to be said. Sounds like a wonderful and blessed event.

     

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Lรญonel Lived.

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ Lรญonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone elseโ€™s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

