RSS

Fishing in the Surf…

03 Sep
blue fish

blue fish

This past weekend my husband and I went away to North Myrtle Beach for our anniversary. I brought along my neon pink and green jazzy running shoes to get a run or two in on the beach. Ever the early bird, my eyes popped open of their own volition at about 6:30 the first morning. I jumped up, laced up, grabbed my camera and went out to capture the sunrise. The plan was to get a few shots, bring the camera back and go for the run.

sunrise

sunrise

As I was tracking the sun’s movement with the other early birds, I looked over and saw a man throwing his net a little further out in the surf; fishing. I ambled over to him and became fascinated with what he was doing. In his net were about fifteen mullets. To my untrained eye I thought they were decent size, but he said they were just his bait. I assisted as he tried to get them in his bucket of water; they were jumping everywhere!

bait

bait

He then hooked the live mullets to his fishing pole and threw it out. A few minutes later he pulled in his catch; a blue fish. The bait was in his belly, the hook was in his mouth. The man unhooked the blue fish and threw him back in. The salt water would heal the damage from the hook he said. He repeated the process again. This time he put two live mullets on there saying ‘big bait big fish’. A couple minutes later, an even bigger blue fish. I hung around ‘helping’ out, picking up a fish or two; my morning run long forgotten.

CSC_1015

As I headed back in, I was deep in thought as I watched the baby fish and crabs washing in with the waves and scurrying back to the relative safety of the ocean. I was thinking about when Jesus called Peter (Simon) and Andrew in Matthew 4. He told them he would make them fishers of men. That thought stayed with me as my husband and I enjoyed the rest of the day.

day 2 sunrise

day 2 sunrise

The next morning I didn’t even bother with the sneakers, I donned some water shoes and headed out. Cool breeze, enjoying the majesty of the ocean, I saw the fisherman again; same time same place. He was casting his net but coming up empty. No bait no fish. So he packed up and went in. I drifted a little further down the beach and as I came back, there was a father and son team, fishing in the same spot. They were reeling in some smaller catch.The dad told me all about it; there were pompano, whiting, blue fish and pin fish.

pin fish

pin fish

They didn’t have live bait, they brought blood worms, squid and shrimp as bait. I watched how they held the fishing pole, how they held the string so that they knew when a fish had taken the bait, yanking it and reeling them in. If they didn’t feel the movement and respond immediately, the fish would take the bait and shake themselves off the hook.

image

The whole process took patience and they never knew what fish would take the bait. Preparation was also paramount. They had the right equipment and I especially liked the fisherman who came out extra early to catch his bait, because bigger predatory fish are more attracted to smaller live fish.

We are to be fishers of men, using the word, our testimony and the example of our life as bait. One good taste is all someone needs to see that God is good. Even if they don’t come or they ‘get away’, like the fish that got off the hook, the bait is still in their belly. As we interact with others we have to be sensitive and discerning to know when the bait is working. We can’t be lazy, procrastinate and not follow through; we let people off the hook when we do this.

day 3 sunrise...

day 3 sunrise…

Let’s spend early morning time with God to get prepared to go fishing. There are many techniques and platforms; big boats, little boats, fishing off the dock, fishing off the pier etc. But there are many fish out there to be caught; even while fishing in the surf.

I pray this will be bait for someone to get moving; we can’t let the ‘fish’ off the hook 😉

Be Blessed

JC

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2013 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Fishing in the Surf…

  1. Hannah Lauvanya

    September 4, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Beautiful parallels! It sounds like you had an early morning rendezvous with the Divine Fisher of Men on that beach rather than a mortal fisherman. And oh, happy anniversary of course! 😀

     
    • JC

      September 4, 2013 at 1:03 pm

      Ha, perhaps I did!! Didn’t look at it that way 😉
      Maybe I was the fish being reeled in!! I love it 😉

      Great insight Hannah 😉
      Blessings!

       
  2. Prodigal Daughter

    September 5, 2013 at 1:09 am

    Those were pretty sized fish! Did you get to cast the net? And the pictures are beautiful. And thanks for dropping by. Don’t be a stranger:)

     
    • JC

      September 5, 2013 at 1:15 am

      Hi 🙂
      No ma’am….no net casting for me. I held a couple slimy ones that jumped out of my hand but I was more interested in capturing the moment…

      Thanks for commenting and I won’t be a stranger…we are on the same mission 😉
      Blessings my sister
      JC

       
  3. Prodigal Daughter

    September 5, 2013 at 1:18 am

    Blessings accepted.let’s stay connected. hugs.

     
  4. journeyofjoy

    September 5, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    “our testimony and the example of our life as bait”. effective and convicting JC! I really need to examine how this is working especially at work where I know God needs me to remain a testimony to those I see daily. thank you so much for this. It will def. stay with me. Also, a guest post for Journey of Joy sometime?

     
    • JC

      September 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      But of course 😉

      This has stuck with me too!!! I have been really considering the depth of the concept since I’ve been back. This past weekend I went to this workshop in Asheville, NC, and learned that the word ‘equip’ (used in Ephesians 4:12) is the same word used for ‘mend’ in Matthew 4:21 (as the brothers, James and John were ‘mending their net’).

      Part of being a fisherman is mending nets. They couldn’t just throw a torn net away and get a new one. And if they didn’t prepare well it would affect their results as well as lose what was in the net.

      There are going to be times where we have to ‘mend’ others as they come to us ripped and broken……

      Thought provoking 😉

      JC

       
      • JC

        September 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm

        Got it!!

         
  5. Christina ~

    September 11, 2013 at 2:53 am

    JC…these photos are absolutely exquisite!! So clear and beautiful I can almost smell the ocean air. Your reminder of our Lord and being fishermen was a poignant one for me. I won’t go into detail but God is being patient with me as I sort some things with him in my walk….I just wanted to thank you for sharing this…it means more to me today than I could hope to share. Hugs and Blessings ~

     
    • JC

      September 16, 2013 at 3:31 am

      Thank Christina,
      I am glad that you used the word ‘patient’. It humbles me to think of how many ‘chances’ He gives us to get it right 😉
      JC

       
  6. Turquoise Compass

    September 15, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    I would love to get to Myrtle Beach!

     
    • JC

      September 16, 2013 at 3:32 am

      Add it to your list. I know you’ll make it happen 😉

       
  7. greenlightlady

    September 17, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Your pictures are awesome! I like how you displayed them ( like an album). I’ve taken the words to heart, too. We are to be about our Father’s business…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

     
    • JC

      September 18, 2013 at 1:22 am

      Thank you….coming from you, the photo compliment is truly a compliment 🙂
      Your photos are always awesome and it seems like you live in nature’s back yard 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by…
      Blessings my sister
      JC

       
  8. aviesplace2012

    October 2, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Loved your life lesson, JC! Happy belated anniversary!

    God bless!
    Avanell

     

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Líonel Lived.

🙏🏾 Líonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health 🙏🏾

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

