RSS

Worship that Costs….

08 Aug

splendid creation.....splendid Creator

splendid creation…..splendid Creator

One of my favorite characters in the bible is King David. A lot of people give him a lot of slack for the indiscretions that he committed. But no one could beat him at repentance and having a heart that sought after God. On my ride home from work yesterday morning I was thinking about one of his stories that has touched a tender place in my heart; 2 Samuel 24:24. I wanted to write a quick blurb about it.

David is in trouble for conducting a census without God’s consent. His punishment is in full effect and he is instructed to go and build an altar to God on the threshing floor. Well the threshing floor belongs to Araunah. Araunah offers to give the threshing floor to David for free. But David’s response is so beautiful to me; he says “I will buy it from you. I will not offer sacrifices to God that cost me nothing”.

In other words, I will not seek after You to worship You if it costs me nothing (even if I just messed up). What a heart…..no wonder he was a man after God’s heart.

Are we willing to pay a price to worship? To lose a couple of friends and pick up a couple of haters? To be rejected by people and be under constant attack from the enemy?

Can we sacrifice some time to be patient with someone else? Sacrifice some time to spend extra quality time with God? Sacrifice financially to invest in the temple and further the work of Christ?

I pray that I will pay the price to bring my worship before an AWESOME God; even when the price is me!

I will not offer God worship that cost me nothing.

Be Blessed

JC

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2013 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Worship that Costs….

  1. Brian

    August 8, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Thanks JC. This is the attitude of sacrifice that will cultivate true worship. Not looking for an easy way but being willing to know that live is expressed in the details. I will keep this before me as I seek to have a life of worship; I will not offer worship to God that cost me nothing!

     
    • JC

      August 8, 2013 at 7:58 pm

      Amen….it should be a personal mantra to us all. A constant reminder about what this Christian walk is all about!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Blessings
      JC

       
  2. bornfromabovenotofthisworld

    August 8, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    This is dead on JC! This really has ministered to my heart today and encourages me to keep on going no matter what. I’m learning that to worship him with all your heart and in truth will cost you everything. People will reject you and some friends will even walk away but God is right there filling in the blank spaces with more of him and it’s worth it all 🙂 Bless you!

     
    • JC

      August 8, 2013 at 8:03 pm

      Sometimes we don’t even realize when we He fills in those ‘blanks’ until we realize that we don’t miss certain people or things anymore 🙂

      He is truly Awesome and He is so worth it (whatever ‘it’ looks like)!

       
  3. Pure Glory

    August 8, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Good word, JC! Worship encompasses so many facets of our life. The highest form of worship is obedience to what God has told you to do. The cost of this is great but brings great dividends!

     
    • JC

      August 8, 2013 at 8:00 pm

      I am glad you hit on obedience….Thats all God wanted from us, ‘loving obedience’, all the way back to Adam and Eve.

      You’re right though, the cost is a beast but the reward is priceless!

      Blessings
      JC

       
  4. inthepottershands988

    August 10, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    “I will not offer God worship that cost me nothing.” Amen! Challenging words! Thank you!!

     
    • JC

      August 14, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      Amen indeed! Thank you for stopping through 🙂

       
  5. joecruzmn

    August 12, 2013 at 2:58 am

    thanks for sharing this. I found it amazing and refreshing

     
    • JC

      August 14, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      Thanks for stopping through and commenting 🙂

       
      • joecruzmn

        August 15, 2013 at 1:00 am

        no biggie. I like what so many bloggers in Christ have to say. I will visit your blog more often

         
  6. journeyofjoy

    August 14, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    That verse is one of my most favorite verses JC! It’s much easier to give God what we won’t miss. Thank you for writing about it!

     
    • JC

      August 14, 2013 at 8:16 pm

      I fell in love with it when I first read it too 😉

       

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Líonel Lived.

🙏🏾 Líonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health 🙏🏾

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

