RSS

Death….what is your perspective?

17 Jul

still watersI don’t typically listen to the radio on my commute to work, but this morning I was listening because I wanted a heads up about traffic. They were talking about the passing of 53 year old Jon Richardson, the son of Carolina Panther’s owner, Jerry Richardson.He passed away after a lengthy battle with cancer. They mentioned how young he was and how he battled cancer bravely.

For some reason this stuck with me. I work in the field of homicide and about five months ago I had to go to the hospital because a six year old had been brought into the ER; he had been playing and some bricks had fallen on him. I stood there and watched several doctors and nurses surround him as they tried to save his life. A little later they all walked away….there was nothing they could do; he was gone 😦

I cannot articulate the anguished cry of the mother and grandmother as they realized what this meant. The stillness in the air, the clenched jaw of each doctor and attendant.The sob of the mother’s broken heart. The struggle to not picture your own child on that table. I stood there, dry eyed, jaws clenched and locked, wanting to be invisible. I stood there as the mother asked God for a miracle. The same God I was clinging to for strength and guidance to navigate through the grief and solemnity of the situation so that I could get the information I needed.

Yesterday I was speaking to a friend whose dad is now on life support; cirrhosis of the liver, death imminent. We talked about how the gravity of these situations cause families to come together and cause people to bury long carried hatchets.

Most people don’t like to talk about death. But I will venture there this morning because it is heavy in my heart and it is the one surety we have in life. At 53, Jon Richardson was young and, without argument, the six year old was young too. My friend’s father has been in pain, struggling and deteriorating for a long time. Β There are myriad perspectives on these types of situation. Anger, regret, resentment, etc. A lot of times pointed at God.

What helps us? What helps our perspective as we transition to a ‘new normal’, without that loved one? How do we comfort and encourage a friend when we don’t know what to say? What happens when no one can answer the question ‘WHY’?

I just know one thing, God is God regardless and I know that there is more depth to this topic, but I just wanted us to not take life for granted. For us not to wish we had said ‘I love you’, or wish we had not parted on bad terms with hurtful words; or more importantly wished we had given our lives to God. Tomorrow isn’t promised, and who knows what ‘young’ is.

What’s your perspective?

Be blessed

JC

 
15 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2013 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Death….what is your perspective?

  1. Shakti Ghosal

    July 22, 2013 at 11:13 am

    That’s a great question to ask. But as I muse on it, I see it from another side. What remains after death? Put another way, how does death serve the person who dies? If it does not, what is the need to have a perspective?

    From the point of an observer, it is another matter altogether. Sometime back, I had posted on the death of a very close person to me in , ” The Other Side of Sadness.’ I invite you to browse that and give your views.

    Shakti

     
    • JC

      July 22, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Hi Shakti,

      Thanks for your response. Because I am a Christian, I believe there’s life after death; Life in heaven or life in hell.

      However, even if someone does not have this perspective there are several perspectives to have:
      What remains after death? – the main answer to this is People; grieving people who will surely be grappling with the ‘new normal’; people who don’t understand why; people who don’t how to ‘be there’ for someone grieving.

      Even the person facing death (perhaps in hospice or so) has a perspective…perhaps the pain will be no more and death will be a welcomed end to years of pain. Perhaps death is a means to meet their Savior. Perhaps death is a chosen means to end a situation perceived as difficult (suicide).

      What about the person who has controlled everything and now has no control over this hand…facing it with anger?

      Au contraire my friend, I do believe there are many perspectives to have…

      I’ll hop over and check your post out.

      Blessings

      JC

       
  2. Seyi sandra

    July 22, 2013 at 11:18 am

    I had goose pimples on my arms reading this but you’re so right, death is totally inevitable, may God give us the strength to go on, no matter the circumstances of our lives!

     
    • JC

      July 22, 2013 at 11:46 am

      Indeed…may He allow us to be content and win with the hand we’re dealt.

       
  3. meinwords

    July 25, 2013 at 4:09 am

    Aging and Death have been very big themes in my life lately. Two reasons~losing my mom earlier this year and growing more aware of my own mortality as I draw into middle age. Its very sobering.

     
    • JC

      July 25, 2013 at 2:27 pm

      Sobering it is indeed. My condolences on the passing of your mother. I pray that God has been your comfort.

      I read your blog on knowing your calling…and my take on death has been that I don’t want to die not having ‘lived’. Not having lived out the purpose God had in mind when He made me.

      I want to go before Him empty…having used and exhausted every gift, thought, word, song, poem….EVERYTHING inside of me!! That’s why your post was so important. Once we embrace who we are and what we were called to do, we start ‘living’, and death is no longer so intimidating…

      Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Blessings my sister…
      JC

       
  4. lessonsbyheart

    July 27, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    The subject of death became very “in my face” eight years ago when my mom unexpectedly died at the age of 65. For us it was simple to direct the doctor to take her off life support (she had a massive stroke due to the TPA she was being given for the blood clots that were filling up her veins). We thoroughly knew her stand on this matter, and knew where she would be once she slipped through the veil between life and death.

    Jesus was present throughout this nightmare time of my life. I was and am deeply grateful for His tender comfort. Looking back, I have to wonder how people with no hope of a reunion manage.

    My favorite verse concerning death is in Corinthians and states, “This mortality shall be swallowed up by life.” That encourages me more than any other verse. This isn’t *life* – but mere mortality. True life begins when we step out of these ol’ earthly tents. Mmmm. Love that.

    You have such excellent articles. I’ll be back to read more! Thank you for your labor of love as you write to make Jesus known. May you be granted a great harvest for your work!

    So…what do you think you’ll be doing a million years from today? I haven’t a clue, but I do know that it will be amazing!!!!

    Have a blessed day – and thank you for the follow, which brought me here!

    Love in Christ,
    Tami
    \o/

     
    • JC

      July 27, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Thank you for you comments.
      I love the thought you mentioned about going through with ‘no hope’. Sometimes hope is the only thing that keeps us going steadfastly. Hope in a God, who somehow ‘makes ALL things (good or bad) work together for the good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose’…

      Blessings
      JC

       
  5. LoveEli

    July 27, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    JC,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Though death is not a very pleasant subject to write or read about, I think that sometimes it is imperative that we do. Tomorrow not being promised is a much needed reminder. Don’t wait until you feel the need to say things because time is limited once we know someone’s passing is inevitable. Time is always limited. Sometimes people pass with no warning like the child you spoke about in this post. Nothing can prepare you for the “new normal”. As much as you would like to think you are. What we can do is turn to God for comfort and for love. For understanding that these things happen in life. That we must learn from not only our success and happiness but also from our pain and the tragedies. As far as comforting a person who is grieving, you can lend an ear. Give a hug. Be that emotional support. When you lose someone, there is nothing anybody can really say to take away that pain. But to know that somebody is there for you can make the difference. It can bring some lights into your heart. I guess its not so much what you say to the grieving person, but what you do for them. As you have heard before, actions definitely speak louder than words.

    We must also remember that in these times, we shouldn’t turn to God to blame him. God always has a reason for why he does things. Trust in him because he is the only one who will never fail you.

    God bless you and the unique eyes that God has give you to view the world in your own way.

    Elisha

     
    • JC

      July 27, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      You are right…”being there’ for others is sometimes an uncomfortable feeling. Sometimes people stay away because they don’t know what to ‘say’. But, like you said, even being there with no words makes all the difference…
      I love that we all bring different perspectives to the table…never knowing which one will impact the next person.
      May God bless you too πŸ™‚

      JC

       
  6. Robin Claire

    August 1, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Hi Pastor JC,
    I wrote a post on something that happened to radically change my view on death. It was a God-thing I think and it helped me a lot. Here is the link:
    http://robinclaire.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/death-and-cliff-jumping/
    robin
    ps – I also wrote something about asking the “Why” question if you have the time and inclination to read it.
    http://robinclaire.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/dont-ask-god-why-ask-what-2-2/

     
    • JC

      August 1, 2013 at 8:34 am

      Cool…..will check it out….thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

       
  7. searchgodabout

    August 19, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Thanks JC for yours comments left at sex and singleness, I’m glad you relate to the subject matter and can sense the harm that is being caused among the body of Christ. I love what you are observing and writing.
    Lets stay connected…
    Cheryl

     
  8. Prodigal Daughter

    September 5, 2013 at 1:14 am

    I am a believer in Christ and I believe in life after earthly death. Depends on what someone believes, death could be a glorious anticipation or a dreadful end to the journey called “life’. πŸ™‚

     

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
LΓ­onel Lived.

πŸ™πŸΎ LΓ­onel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health πŸ™πŸΎ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

