RSS

Have you had your hug today?

11 Jul

hugMany times my daily inspiration comes from unexpected places. More times than many I stumble on it quite accidentally and end up pondering on it for the rest of the day. Yesterday I was in the grocery store and as I walked up to the register, a very pregnant cashier began to check me out. Before we got done a tiny elderly woman came up to her and asked her if she had her hug today. She said no and the woman gave her a hug. The woman then came to me and asked if I had had my hug for the day. I ย stuttered that ‘umm I think I did’, but then I realized that I hadn’t gotten a hug for the day….my baby girl was sleeping out and hubby was still in bed. So I leaned in and got a very warm hug from this woman. I watched her walk away, pushing her buggy and giving out hugs to people as she left the store.

I couldn’t help but think about what that hug meant to someone who never gets a loving touch. The woman was so happy and content with what she was doing to spread God’s love. It surely put a smile in my spirit. It made me want to pay it forward.

Me and my co-workers were sitting at an Asian restaurant one day and after we got done eating we each opened our fortune cookies. I am not a big fan of fortune cookies but like I said, an inspirational crumb can come from anywhere. We all had different ones and I thought it was funny how everyone reacted and smiledย at the ‘good’ news in their one liners. Ever looking for these moments, I gathered them all and kept them in my wallet. Until today, that is. This was what they all said…

futuresuccessdreams

It is the simple and unexpected things that leave lasting impressions. Sometimes we underestimate the power of a smile, the smell of fresh rain, the crispness of a cool winter morning or even the heat of a summer day. We underestimate the power of a heartfelt compliment, a kind word,ย a hug, a pat on the back, an ‘I’m thinking about you’ note, a kind gesture etc….Don’t get too busy in the hustle and bustle of any given day….have you had your hug today? And if you have, find a way to pay it forward.

Be Blessed

JC

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Have you had your hug today?

  1. greenlightlady

    July 12, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    Thank you, JC, for a delightful post that made me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs to you and I plan to pass on as many as I can today.

     
    • JC

      July 12, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you. And thanks for passing it on, prayerfully it will put a smile on someone else’s face ๐Ÿ™‚
      Be Blessed
      JC

       
  2. Seyi sandra

    July 12, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    Such a lovely and warm post, you’re indeed a blessing! I’ll pass on the hug, much love to you my friend!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • JC

      July 13, 2013 at 1:49 am

      Thanks Seyi and thanks for paying it forward ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. Terra

    July 13, 2013 at 12:11 am

    Hello dear sister,

    What a word of inspiration and emcouragement! I, myself take delight in the small things and I usually find a reason to smile everyday. God gifts us with so many small blessings that I pray we really take hold of them and share it with others. This post made me smile and reflect. Thank you so much!

    Blessings to you!

    Terra

     
    • JC

      July 13, 2013 at 1:42 am

      Hi Terra,
      The part that blesses me the most with this concept is that it doesn’t cost anything. Or maybe I should say it shouldn’t cost us anything to be nice and show God’s love ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for the kind words..
      Be blessed
      JC

       
  4. shianwrites

    July 13, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Wow! Amazing. Some people might have been looking at her as if she”s a crazy person but what she did is beyond words. That was a blessing.

     
    • JC

      July 13, 2013 at 1:50 pm

      I am glad you mentioned that…it wasn’t the hug that blessed me, it was how unabashed she was in spreading God’s love. Not caring what anyone thought!
      JC

       
      • shianwrites

        July 13, 2013 at 1:56 pm

        Yeah, I got it. She is God’s servant.

         
  5. God is Good

    July 23, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Great post. Thankyou for directing me to it! I’ll be looking for my hug today … It’s coming … Blessings, God is Good!

     
  6. Pure Glory

    August 9, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    Consider yourself hugged today! Thanks for a delightful post. ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Lรญonel Lived.

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ Lรญonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone elseโ€™s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

