RSS

Not my Way…

24 Jun
relax and let God handle it...

relax and let God handle it…

Not My Way….

“From a young age, I learned to be self-reliant. When the adults in my life weren’t there for me, physically or emotionally, I survived by taking care of myself. This character quality was something I prided myself in for a long time because it made me feel strong and capable. When I became a Christian, I learned that God wanted me to trust in and depend on Him.

Surrendering my self-reliance has always been one of the hardest things about my walk with Christ. Unlike Hezekiah when threatened by King Sennacherib or Jehoshaphat when attacked by an army from Edom, it goes against my independent grain to ask God for help before trying to deal with my circumstances first.

Over the years, as God has dealt with various sins in my life, I am always brought back to this theme of self-reliance. My sins are mostly the result of me trying to handle things my way instead of looking to God. Overeating to deal with my stress. Procrastinating because I don’t know where to start. Letting resentment creep in rather than speaking the truth in love to a fellow believer. Every time I realize my sin, I come to the same cross-roads of pride and humility. Will I insist on continuing to do things my way becuase I like taking care of myself and being in control, or will I humble myself to God and admit that His way is better? Thankfully, as I get older, God continues to sanctify me through His power, and I submit to Him more and rely on myself less.”

God, Today I will do things Your way…

I came across this daily devotional sample and I had to put it out here. I couldn’t have said it better myself. For many of us, our independence was a tool of survival. It was equivalent to the chaff that protects the grain. Our independence protected us in relationships, enduring various family dynamics, surviving in the workplace and our professional lives etc. But when we came to God, we had to pass over those reigns to Him. He wants to remove the chaff, that toughness. It is a process of threshing, pressing and sifting. It doesn’t feel good, but the grain/seed that He has planted in us will become visible. This is difficult for some of us and we continually get in the way. We don’t want to give up that control. We still want to have a say in how things go because not having some control makes us vulnerable and uncomfortable. Sometimes we feel as if God is asking too much. He should understand that this is how I am wired and this is what I am used to. Shouldn’t He? Well God does understand, but He wants us to know that His way is ALWAYS better and He doesn’t need our help. He is God.

 My life verse, I believe, will always be Proverbs 3:5-8…”Trust in The Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct your paths…” I am practical and I love information along with a plan A, B and C. Well, as believers we know that God doesn’t work like that! He is the Plan A and there is NO Plan B, C or D. Plus, God is not big on details! Guess what, Faith does not demand details. Truthfully if we had all the details we wouldn’t need faith. And we know the Word says that it is impossible to please God without faith. If we want to please God, we have to show Him that we trust Him and we have faith in His plan for us.

 I want to encourage you today. I did not realize when my own independence had become a stumbling block. Yes, it was necessary for survival before God, but now that we have Him, there is no need for independence, just DEPENDENCE on Him! It is a constant process, but it gets easier. The more we surrender the easier it is to accept things God’s way. As a matter of fact, the process is beautiful (even though it doesn’t always feel that way), God is beautiful, following Him is beautiful and it really is relaxing to do things His way. When it doesn’t appear to go right, it is up to Him to fix it. Let’s take it one day at a time and say “God, Today I will do things Your way”.

 Be Blessed.

 JC

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2013 in Daily Inspiration, Worship

 

2 responses to “Not my Way…

  1. Renita Smith

    July 12, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    Jackie I love your blogs….I feel comforted and God’s love. I am so glad you followed God leading to start this website. May God bless you as you continue to bless others.

     
    • JC

      July 13, 2013 at 1:35 am

      Thank you my sister, it truly inspires me to hear this….thank you for the support 🙂
      Be blessed
      JC

       

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Líonel Lived.

🙏🏾 Líonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health 🙏🏾

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

