RSS

Find a Balance…

22 Jun
Ava...

Ava…

This morning I laced up the bright neon green laces in my sneakers and headed out the door. Wasn’t sure where I was headed. It was early Saturday morning and I thought about going for a run, walking the trails in the park, or maybe hitting up the Farmer’s Market. But I didn’t need anything from the market, I still had goodies from last week’s visit. I got in the car, got about half way up the street and then God said go back and get your camera and go to the park. I turned around and went back home, grabbed my camera and my dog, Ava. Off we went to walk the trails in the park.

We walked and enjoyed the sounds of nature. I love early mornings. Passing other early-birds, running, walking their dogs, fishing or biking the trails, felt good. They were out enjoying the day just like I was. Cars were coming in with bikes strapped to the top and others were coming in with dogs hanging out the window, eager for their morning jaunt.

I realized that it had been a while since I did this. Isn’t it amazing how sometimes we fall away from doing the things we like because we have become busy? Busy with our families, our jobs, ministry etc. Ava and I walked a little over three miles. I chatted with God, snapped a couple of photos and watched Ava sniff at everything to her heart’s delight.

For sometime God has been dealing with me and the word Balance. Truthfully, I haven’t gotten the full hang of it. It is so easy to be lopsided and something goes neglected. Sometimes I go neglected. I don’t rest enough and I have a tendency to ‘spread myself thin’ (as my husband puts it). It is so easy to put one’s self on the back burner. But balance is a deep word. Some of us are spiritually growing, but physically we’re not taking care of our ‘temple’ as we ought. Or some of us are in great physical shape, but shabby spiritually. Some of us are great in our professional lives but our personal lives do not mirror the same level of investment. On the other hand, some of us invest a lot in our personal lives and relationships but not the same spiritually. One thing I realize about God is that He is interested in the whole man. He wants us to be growing and improving spiritually, emotionally, financially and physically.

For me, a big part of that is effective time management. But it is also learning what makes me whole. Spending quiet time with God in the outdoors is what I love! The park had a huge lake and there is something about water that is soothing to me. The sound of it and how it moves is so relaxing. Part of my balance is finding time to relax. As Christians we must reflect on those areas in our lives that are lopsided. Whether, we work too much or not enough, rest too much or not at all, eat too much or not enough, spend too much or not at all. In every circumstance in our lives there are extremes; that’s why balance is so important. But I was reading somewhere that wisdom means living our lives skillfully. We should each try to live skillfully; eat skillfully, spend skillfully, work skillfully, pray skillfully, love skillfully….and I could go on and on. God is skillful and strategic, so let’s mirror Him.

Slow down and make time to savor this life God has given you….

Pics from our morning outing are below…

Be Blessed

JC

trails...

trails…

peaceful waters...

peaceful waters…

trails...

trails…

this guy was trying to make it across...

this guy was trying to make it across…

still waters...

still waters…

enjoying the morning...

enjoying the morning…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 22, 2013 in Daily Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , ,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
LΓ­onel Lived.

πŸ™πŸΎ LΓ­onel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health πŸ™πŸΎ

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

