RSS

Don’t second guess the voice of God…

20 Jun
hear God in the stillness...

hear God in the stillness…

Don’t second guess the voice of God….

God communicates with us in so many ways. First and foremost, the beauty of it is that He wants to communicate with us. For some of us it is a feeling we get, perhaps an inkling, or we hear Him, or the usually ‘something’ told me. Well, the Holy Spirit is not a ‘thing’ or an ‘it’, but He does communicate with us. The trick is to be sensitive to the voice of God.

About five months ago I was leaving my office to go in the field to do some work. I had the thought to grab two pens, but I figured that I didn’t need two and I grabbed the one that had the most ink. Well, when I got out there, my partner forgot his pen and needed one. Needless to say, had I grabbed the two pens that the Holy Spirit was leading me to grab, we would not have been scrambling for another pen.

One day I was getting ready for work and I had the thought to wear a white t-shirt under my sweater. I shrugged it off and wore my usual tank top. I was basically dressed in all black. Of course I ended up working an outside scene in the middle of the day, 90 + degrees,  no shade, dressed in all black, and couldn’t take my sweater off because I only had on a tank top. Yes I sweated my tail off, but the Holy Spirit was trying to guide me that morning.

About four weeks ago, my co-workers and I were going out in the field to do some work, one of them asked me if I wanted to ride but I had the thought to take my own car in case I got the chance to go to Bible Study at lunch. I declined the ride. A short while later a driver ran the red light and plowed into the front passenger side of his car, totaling it, and sending him to the hospital. I was extremely glad that I listened to the Holy Spirit.

My husband bought me a new wallet for Mother’s day, but I had been dragging my feet on switching over the contents of my old wallet to the new. So I was heading into the mall and I just grabbed the new wallet, placed my debit card and a Barnes and Nobles discount card in it (I was debating buying a book). As I was zipping it up I had the fleeting thought to grab my ID, but I shrugged it off. I wasn’t buying anything to where I would need ID. I purchased some items and then went into Hallmark to get some Father’s day cards. At the register, the cashier asked for ID. Of course! I said why do you need ID? She said you didn’t sign the back of your card….I have been using that new card for about 10 months and she was the first person who ever asked for ID. But she was right. And the Holy Spirit was trying to tell me this, even though the ‘thought’ was extremely fleeting.

Two days ago, I was driving home and the thought came to call a friend and check on her. I remember the time and moment exactly. It was 5:52 pm and I thought to myself, she might still be at work or probably home with her family by now and I don’t want to disturb her. Well about an hour and a half later she reached out to me and said she needed to talk. On top of that she was sick and hadn’t gone to work that day!

In all but one of these scenarios I was obedient to God. I have so many scenarios like this, many of which I was obedient and didn’t second guess, going along with the feeling or thought. Many others where I was disobedient. I struggle sometimes with the ‘thoughts’ because they seem so simple and I question whether they are my thoughts or God. Well I asked this question of my pastor one day and he said “when you are in tune with God, your thoughts are His thoughts”.

It feels as if God is training me to ‘hear’ Him however He comes. He said to me that I can’t ‘see around the corner’ and that’s why it is so imperative that I heed the voice of the Holy Spirit. In every scenario I didn’t know what was ahead but in each scenario God did! I cannot see around the corner.

I am sure we all have stories like mine. In every one of them, when we don’t listen, we can’t be mad at anyone but ourselves. God is always speaking. But just like in 1 Kings 19:11-21, God spoke to Elijah in a soft gentle whisper. He was not in the wind, earthquake or fire. God doesn’t want to compete for our attention so He will not yell above what we have going on. But when we are walking in God’s will and we are staying in constant communication with Him, then we have to be confident that our thoughts are His thoughts. But only when we are in tuned with Him. For some of us, second guessing can cause us serious bodily injury or even our life.

Second guessing is detrimental to us as Christians because sometimes we need to make split-second decisions and only the Holy Spirit can tell us which decision is the right one. At the end of the day we want His guidance in everything that we do. We truly don’t want to do it without Him. So even when He tells us which route to take to work, what clothes to wear, where to stand in line, who to call, what to say, what to eat etc. This is all training. But this makes our life so much easier and our Christian-walk all the more exciting 🙂

Truth be told, we are actually disobedient when we don’t heed to the direction of the Holy Spirit no matter how innocuous the direction or consequence. I encourage each of you to listen and be confident. You do hear God, but like me, you just can’t see around the corner.

Please share some of your own stories so we can strengthen each other, because sometimes we think we are the only ones experiencing these things. Remember, we do overcome by the words of our testimony.

Be Blessed

JC

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 20, 2013 in Daily Inspiration, Worship

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated :)

 
Líonel Lived.

🙏🏾 Líonel was Strong, He Prospered and He is now in Perfect Health 🙏🏾

theintrovertaspect

Just an introvert surviving in a world of extroverts.

Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Untold Stories

A Skewed Glimpse of the World

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

Oyinda Honey

Faith +Life+ Style

Being Made Whole, INChrist !!!

1 Thessalonians 5:23

Making memories

inesemjphotography

badsphotoblog

The blog of Bryan Davis Photography

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Bring Bread

For the Spiritually Hungry

Faith, Hope, Love, Serve | Shine Your Light

There is something inside me that has made me new and set me free

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Darla McDavid

Writer | Stories about family, friends, goodness, and God

Uplifting Christ

Safe with Jesus

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

WOMEN'S WINDOW

Poetry, Christian Devotionals, Recipes, Articles, Bible Studies, Thoughts and Prayers

Heather C. King - Room to Breathe

"He's solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul" Psalm 62:1-2 (MSG).

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

Climbing Out Of The Well

Life of a Recovering Alcoholic, Food Addict, Schizoaffective, Complex-PTSD'er, Child Abuse Survivor, Christian who also follows A.C.I.M.

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Faith Love n Desire

Only Jesus is your best friend....

Proverbs Way

Spreading faith, hope, and love, one word at a time

True Beauty Ministries

"You are beautiful in His sight"

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Life In My Tin Can

Places in the heart

